Why do the seed cases always stick to my seedlings?

• Thread starter rendor11
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
rendor11

rendor11

I always have to pick them off with tweezers or toothpicks etc.

I germinate my seeds in distilled water until I see a tap root. Then I use tweezers to drop the seed in a small rock wool cube 1" I think? I make sure the tap root is pointed downward otherwise it always gets hung up and won't sprout.

So my problem seems obvious. There's no friction to cause the seed casing to fall off as it rises. I see other people groiwing in rockwook and they just drop the seed any way they feel like it and it manages to sprout every time! I've been growing Cannabis for about 2 years now and I just keep having the exact same issue and obviously I'm doing something wrong.

Aside from growing in soil, how do I fix this issue??

PS. This is a photo of a seedling that I just now picked the seed casing off with tweezers. Believe me when I tell you the "husk" or whatever would never have fallen off on it's own. Perhaps it's just this "Critical" strain I'm growing because I rarely had this issue with Northern Lights but it still happened. .

What I really want to know is when do you place the seedling under lights? Is there a point where you take it from total darkness and give it just a little light?

Seed casing problems
Aqua Man

Aqua Man

I always have to pick them off with tweezers or toothpicks etc.

I germinate my seeds in distilled water until I see a tap root. Then I use tweezers to drop the seed in a small rock wool cube 1" I think? I make sure the tap root is pointed downward otherwise it always gets hung up and won't sprout.