Extra small valve at bottom of buckets

• Thread starter fnord88
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
F

fnord88

Hi guys, first time poster long time reader and ebb and flower. First thanks for all the info in the UC forum, its is awesome.

I am shifting to UC, which i have no experience with, however after reading nearly every post here ( it takes a while ), believe I can avoid all the common mistakes. I am very lucky in that a trusted friend organised for me to purchase a home made system from somebody he knew. His friend is a perfectionist, so the system is as follows:

6 * 20 gallon eskies ( cold box ). Joined by 80mm PVC. PVC runs through 8" ducting, which is then filled with expanadable foam for insulation.

6 * 600w chrome dome lights in cool tubes ducted outside.
1 * 600w HPS
( the eskies are aranged in a circle, 1 chrome dome above every plant, HPS in the middle. Note all the ducting for lights and 2 exhaust fans are all insulated for noise and heat as well)

The problem: My friend is OS, and setting up the system i have encountered a few puzzles.
1) As well as the 80mm PVC, each eskie has a small 20mm hole in bottom with valve attached on out side ( see pic ). Have come up with several ways they could work; suck water from each hole to increase negative pressure? Or push cold water from chiller to each bucket individually?

2) The control bucket has a 900l/hr pump permanently inside it. The hose attached matches the hose size (20mm), of the valves in bottom of eskie. I have assumed it is for the cooler? Included also is a 1000-2000 l/hr inline pump and a 2000 gallon/hr pump, which has to be submerged, can the return line pump sit inyour control eskie?. Not sure why I need all 3?

Photos of small valve are on their side sorry, tilt head 90 degrees and they make more sense.....sorry.

Extra small valve at bottom of buckets
Extra small valve at bottom of buckets 2
Extra small valve at bottom of buckets 3
Extra small valve at bottom of buckets 4
F

fnord88