Newbie Farmer, Tons Of ?'s.

• Thread starter No12u
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
No12u

No12u

I don't even know where to start so ill start by saying hi. I have some gardening experience but I just started to farm, so please bare with me. Im super paranoid about my babies an every little change has had me on edge. Ive stalked a few fourms for a few weeks but found this one alil more useful so i signed up literally mins ago. To me i think im doing ok as a rookie, the only problem is my babies are about 1 1/2 ft tall vs a friends babies which are about the same age but are 3 ft tall already.
He says its the light. So i went andpurchased two 2 ft afl24/t5/865/ho/eco blue lights. (Which there currently under. Is that enough ? I also just purchased two 830 lumen 11w 5000k led lights. Should i add these also or is it over kill.

Babies= White widow

One auto (looks great) lil white pistons coming out everywhere)
Two regular (8-9 month grow cycle) babies are small.

All are about 7-8 weeks old.

I have so many questions but ill start with this one first.

Thanks for helping a newbie. Hope to get some veteran advice.

Last edited:
justiceman

justiceman

Welcome buddy! Let me get this straight. You have one T5 fixture that has two T5 bulbs in it correct? I think that size is about 24w per bulb. So 48 watts. you have enough light to effectively cover about 1 square foot. I don't think it will be enough.

How big is the space you're trying to cover? A general rule of thumb is about 40-50 watts per square foot. You can get by with a little less like a 600w hps in a 4x4 tent(37.5) but you don't want to go much under 40 if you still want decent yields.

The wattage of your light all depends on the area you want it to cover.

I personally use a 600w High Pressure Sodium with an aircooled hood and an inline fan in a 4x4 tent with good results. If you want to stick with the t5's I would grab more of them. I've seen some pretty cool SCROG grows using t5's.