Semi Permanent Aquaponic Grow Cab And Bio Filter

• Thread starter RaptoR
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
RaptoR

RaptoR

Hey People

I am busy building a Semi Permanent setup into my man cave and would like some feedback from the community. I am new to indoor grows and opted for a aquaponic setup.
It is a really fun project and a lot of planning went into it. It took a while to build on my own , but I am getting there. Cycling will start soon and then we will see how she grows...

The setup as follows :
the cab itself is 2.4m (l) x 0.8m (d) x 1.4m (h). The tank is 1000l total which stands on top of a home made trolley , in case I need to pull the tank out for maintenance. I will use a ebb n flow system with bell siphons directly back into the tank. I have 2 x 300W LED installed on a rope pulley system for positioning. I overlapped the Cab with the window sill and built a seperate cabinet inside the main cab for a DIY carbon filter and installed a 15w desktop fan for extraction. I lined the inside of the cab with industrial fire blankets that I got from work , which reflects 90% of rays. I have a 1000l/h submersible pump that pumps into 2 growbeds via a manifold with control valves. I have space for a 3rd growbed , but will use this one from a different tank for the flush cycle.

I still have to fill the growbeds and set up the pots. I plan on using a dual root zone technique for maximum feeding potential. Then I still have to build in my scrog grid due to the height restrictions I have , with the cab being over the tank... I will start off with autoflowering strains as they dont grow too tall. Also , this way I can keep my lights on the same timing and dont need to have a seperate veg/flower cab.