Solar Powered

• Thread starter Sweetskunk
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
S

Sweetskunk

I have been thinking about possibly buying some 100W solar panels and hooking them up to a few car batteries and connecting them to a 800W power inverter I found then plugging my 600 W light/ballast right into the inverter as well as a fan maybe.

Was wondering if anybody is doing anything like this?

I originally had a dream of digging a sophisticated underground insulated grow room out in the woods and having it be totally solar/wind powered and running 24/7 365. but this is a far fetched dream I probably wont attempt without some heavy machinery available for digging. digging around trees is not easy.

I've never tried anything like this before but I am assuming to generate 800W to the inverter at all times I would be needing 8 100W solar panels, or a bunch of car batteries to store the energy in and one or two solar panels because I probably wont have to run the light 24/7.

just some ideas I've been having to save money in the long run.

below frigid

below frigid

Panels just charge the batteries and batteries run the inverter. Inverter changes DC to AC and the inverter runs the appliances. Car batteries won't last very long. You need true deep cycle. 6 volt are better . You need to do some research . Cost for a system to run a fan and light 18 hours a day is pretty high + you would need generator back up a decent inverter and charge controller. Minimum 10 Trojan t-105 6 volt 225 ah batteries. 12 - 100 watt panels. You have to remember some days you get minimal sun so battery bank needs to be large enough to store power for those days. Still will need run generator sometimes.

S

Sweetskunk