what nutes are good for aeroponics?

• Thread starter willy led wonka
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
W

willy led wonka

Curious to know from "hydrorocks" or other members what they recommend for a total aeroponic system and what rates nutrients are used in these types of sytems---roots suspended in air only. They get bathed and then water drains back to resivior under a root mat so the roots dont get into the run off. I just finished my first round with this system and im really happy. But ive been around long enough to know im missing something here. Thanks for your help in advanced....wonka

ttystikk

ttystikk

Okay, so I'm the first to admit I'm not an aeroponic expert, but from what I've read and what I know from other activities, I'm going to lay out some basic assumptions and then from those I'll make a few recommendations.

Assumptions:
1. Anything that goes through a fully aeroponic system must be fully dissolved, no solids, period. This helps avoid clogged emitters and buildup on roots.

2. Any nutrient must therefore be fully water soluble, preferably chelated to remain in suspension and be fully available to the roots on contact.

3. Due to the extreme aerobic environment, it's not helpful to have a lot of microbial activity going on, so microbes and mycchorhizae, etc would be counterproductive, lest something end up causing root rot.

Soooo, based on the above assumptions (and if you think any of them are suspect, feel free to point it out), I'd recommend a NON-organic nutrient system, something that fully and completely dissolves. Coincidentally, these are similar conditions to what you might want for an RDWC system, even though the roots in such systems are floating in the water full time.