Worm Bin Activity

• Thread starter Dunge
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Dunge

Dunge

After brewing an alfalfa tea for 5 days, I throw the solids into the top bin of my worm stack.
Worm bin activity

This is what it looks like after 7 days since last addition.
Worm bin activity 2

This is a fresh addition of tea solids.

For a shared enjoyment of biology in action, I will be taking a daily shot for the next seven days to show how the worms deal with this addition.

I consider the worms to be major allies in my garden, as they seem to act as a microbial regulator.
They consume it all, and excrete a population that then dominates the ecosystem.
Or so I tell myself.

Enjoy the show.

CaliRooted

CaliRooted

Dig it. Just curious to why you brew for 5 days? Love using alfalfa tea's when in vegging. Happy Growing

Dunge

Dunge

Welcome to the show.
[QUOTE="CaliRooted, post: 2033711, member: 66869" brew for 5 days? [/QUOTE]
A few reasons.
When I started brewing alfalfa tea I spent hours at the microscope watching the populations grow and change composition.
The first day it's mostly bacteria of unknown identity.
The populations are growing and some bacteria go motile. Protozoa start cruising about.
Only came upon an amoebae once, but it was a fascinating visit. Surveillance, I know. But I felt the connection.
If I messed up (over serve) molasses, then the yeast would bloom. Yeast are easy to identify.

The primary reason for 5 days is it fits nicely with a weekly feed, with two days rest (dry state) makes a week.
With prior inoculates I might start to smell fecal notes if run long, which would sound an alarm from my wife.

For months now I have been inoculating with worm bin runoff, and a product named Recharge.
Clean white foam, and no offensive smells.
I knock down the foam with a greasy dribble of Alaskan Fish Fertilizer. It kills the foam (I imagine I'd rather those proteins be down in the water column) and doses a bit of nutrients to the herd below.