Dolomite Lime: Did I buy the right stuff?

• Thread starter Gurtgurt
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
mysticepipedon

mysticepipedon

Hey Mysticep. - With all due respect that isn’t true about ideal ratios, definitely not my experience over the past decades. Cannabis in general likes the opposite ratio of calcium and magnesium in flower that Dolomite lime has!
Around 3:1 calcium:magnesium is more optimum for cannabis. This is why big soil companies like FoxFarm add Dolomite and Oyster shell.
Maybe not Cannabis in particular, but plants in general.

FATAL

FATAL

FFOF is perfectly fine soil without amending. They already did the homework for you.

Messing with something that already works is going to be nothing but headaches for you.
Ffof is complete and total trash. It's right next to the 4 dollar quart bag of yard sand for a reason.
Hello fellows,

I just went to home depot in search of "dolomite lime." FYI I am very new to gardening if you couldn't tell.

The only one they had that wasn't in pellets was "Pennington fast acting lime, plus AST." On the back it does say "derived from dolomitic lime." So, is this the right stuff?

I am adding this to Fox Farm Ocean Forest. It says it's more powerful than regular lime -- can someone tell me the right ratio to add?

Thank you!!
You cut off the only part of the label that would have answered the question.

What the fuck are people on these days? 3 pages of nonsense. This website is full of crazy people.

I even Google the label and someone else posted a blurry ass picture asking the internet to read that to them.. The internet makes me feel like I'm on ketamine.

If it's something like 10% mag 20% Cal it's dolomite. If it's 5% or less magnesium it's Calcite.

FATAL

FATAL

pennlimelabel.jpg

It's middle of the road according to this.

Considering my last soil used equal amounts of 5/30 (Calcite) and 10/20 (dolomite), I'll be replacing my dolomite with a bag of Pennington since I can't find Calcite locally.

Gurtgurt