First Time Growing!

• Thread starter MichaelB0329
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
MichaelB0329

MichaelB0329

This is my first time growing. White lightning, still waiting to find out if it's a male or female. Please leave any tips or tricks for me to use- suggestions too!

Setup:
  • x2 23w Sylvania CFL's (adding more as plant develops)
  • Acurite Indoor Thermometer
  • Mainstays 5-inch Desk Fan
  • Pot - Not too sure about the size of the pot
  • What I'm growing In - About 3/4 of Black Kow Cow Manure & 1/4 of ProMix Organic Garden Mix

2/24/20 - Began Germination
2/27/20 - Planted (18/6 Cycle)

3/16 - 3/17 - I noticed bugs buzzing around the plant, did some research, and I believe they were Fungus Gnats, which will lay eggs everywhere and are prone when over-watering. I was also informed wood chips are pretty bad to have and slow drainage and take up root space.

Note: at about 10 seconds, watch the bug near the paperclip moving up and before he flies away, he lays an egg I think. Pretty cool, but I still don't want them!

To try solving this, I went ahead upgraded to the big black pot with the new growing materials (listed above) and the plant has been outside since then and I've cleaned up the closet and let all the gnats go away.

If anybody can tell yet, do you think this is a male or female plant? I know how to tell sort of but I think it may be a little too early to tell.
First time growing
First time growing 2
First time growing 3

MichaelB0329

MichaelB0329

addition: One of the leaves' sides were turned up in a canoe-like shape and many are drooping. Hoping its just because the gnat issue!

Madbud

Madbud