HELP leaves turning black.

• Thread starter Sleepy350
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Sleepy350

Sleepy350

Hi I’m new to growing. I have plants in ground with roughly 25 gals of roots organic formula 707 peat/coco coir. I recently found leaves with brown edges got concerned it could be nutrient burn so I tried flushing the plants for 2 waterings with About 2.5 gallons of water from my well tank that comes out at around 7.0 ph. The plants looked better and I didn’t notice any new brown spots. After a little bit of research I started to think That it could be nutrient lockout as I haven’t been PH testing my nutrient water mix. I watered again yesterday evening with my mix PH adjusted to 6.2, cropped the inside/lower sections of the plants quite a bit, and sprayed with lost coast plant therapy for pest control. This afternoon I found leaves on 1 of the plants curling up and turning black. All the other ones look okay. Any idea as to what is causing this?

First signs of browning
Help leaves turning black

Help leaves turning black 2
Help leaves turning black 3

New black/edges to leaves.
Help leaves turning black 4
Help leaves turning black 5

BurnzYzBudZz

BurnzYzBudZz

HOWCan.i.helPYOU?
Supporter
Any signs
Of pests? I think there is a couple
Issues going on. Let me do some research. @Beachwalker whatcha think? Pests?

After a more careful look. I see some thrips and signs of thrip damage. Continue to pH your water and see if the plants get better. But I’d check for pests as well.

Beachwalker

Beachwalker

Any signs
Of pests? I think there is a couple
Issues going on. Let me do some research. @Beachwalker whatcha think? Pests?
Don't know yet, I was looking at this one earlier, was going to see what information came out before I chimed in

Beachwalker

Beachwalker

Yes I agree it looks heavily mite infested, but I'm also trying to see if there could be a fungus or possibly a bacteria issue, but if so it's probably also caused by the mites