Too much oster and crab shell ?!

• Thread starter Growjay
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
G

Growjay

Hello all !!! I'm new to this forrum but have been searching for answers with no luck. I had a helper who claimed he knew what he was doing helping me ammend my soil. He added a whole box of crab meal 5lbs and a whole box of crushed oster shell 5lbs. Well I questioned him and he said trust him .......... well I'm about 2 weeks into veg and the girls seem to be growing very slow compared to using synthetics. Anyways ph is at 7.2 my dechlorinated tap water reads 5.8 so I have been watering with great white, later encorporate the molasses. . Just watering with 5.8 de Chlor water will bring my ph levels right ? My question is will my oh levels normalize and go down or is my soil ruined by too much ca. What can I do to fix this . ?

Last edited:
G

Growjay

Had 8 cubic feet of soil 2 bags of perlite 50lbs of worm castings. Neem seed meal bat guano fish bone meal a little blood meal and kelp meal.

oldskol4evr

oldskol4evr

first off did you let the soil cook?
the crab meal is chiton,good stuff along with that is oyster shell flour calcium good stuff,both combined is some bad days for bugs,it cut them to pieces
next you have soil you didnt say what it was,all you added is really good stuff on amends,your buddy has the right idea by the way
next your 2 weeks in veg why are you feeding the plant anything at all,if hungry water only there food is in the soil ,the slow growth is the plant trying to find bottom of plant,the great white should have been added as a inoculant to the seed when you planted,i might be wrong but isnt it mychoriza? why use it?,if anything at all stands out to me is the nitrogen you have stormed your pot with,just my opinion.