Air Cool Cmh Bulbs?

• Thread starter heisen
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
H

heisen

Im trying to research this and cannot get a straight answer.I just ordered 2 CMH ballast and the Philips MasterColour CMH Elite 315W Lamp T12 - 3100ºK bulb.The guy who did my order said you cannot air cool them.I keep getting conflicting answers doing searches.I read its only the double jacket you can air cool.It doesnt matter if i cant because i have the Air Cond to cool but still it would be nice to displace the heat.The air im using is already going through a 600W HPS so its not super cold air.
I had an old air cooled hood i want to use with this CMH setup and ill get one more hood to run right next to it over a 60x 45 inch scrog.Im not a lighting expert so figured someone would have a good answer

GT21

GT21

I like soup
Supporter
Im trying to research this and cannot get a straight answer.I just ordered 2 CMH ballast and the Philips MasterColour CMH Elite 315W Lamp T12 - 3100ºK bulb.The guy who did my order said you cannot air cool them.I keep getting conflicting answers doing searches.I read its only the double jacket you can air cool.It doesnt matter if i cant because i have the Air Cond to cool but still it would be nice to displace the heat.The air im using is already going through a 600W HPS so its not super cold air.
I had an old air cooled hood i want to use with this CMH setup and ill get one more hood to run right next to it over a 60x 45 inch scrog.Im not a lighting expert so figured someone would have a good answer
Glass reflects all the good low nanometers... which you dont want at all.

DrMcSkunkins

DrMcSkunkins

Dabbling in Oil
Never used cmh but I read that if they are used with air cooled hoods it changes the light color because it lowers the temp of the bulb and also may shorten bulb life.