Pros and Cons of Water Chillers vs. Minisplits/AC

• Thread starter ttystikk
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
ttystikk

ttystikk

Hi all, this thread is meant to be a forum for open discussion about the merits of water chiller units vs. minisplits and AC, for the purposes of drilling down to relative efficiency, capability and quirks of operation. I want to make it clear at the outset that while I do have opinions on the subject from my own personal experience, I'm not an expert, nor am I a longtime HVAC tech.

I've occasionally dropped in on Cannabis John's thread and mentioned that water chilling might be the way to go for many people, and he graciously responded by saying he's not interested in trying to steer people one way or another, but rather to help them set up whatever system they ultimately choose. I respect his choice, and in fact that's the main reason I'm starting this thread; to have this conversation more directly.

Where the grower is, whether they use hydro or soil media for their grows, the size of the operation and other factors all figure into this, one of the more important decisions a growroom designer is likely to face. Getting this right means trouble free, low effort, low maintenance operations. Getting wrong means hassle, expense and even crop failure.

So what do you think? What's your experience been? If given the chance to do things differently, what would you change? Let's hear it here, and those who follow in our footsteps can have the benefits of our hindsight!

ttystikk

ttystikk

So to kick things off, I'll start by saying I live in high altitude, low humidity Colorado. Up here, AC units have to work extra hard to overcome disadvantages of low air mass in cooling their spaces, and also tend to make a very dry situation worse by adding additional if inadvertent dehumidification.