Runny Liquid Bho

• Thread starter Komoshan
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Komoshan

Komoshan

Hello, I'm sure there is something in the search for this but i didn't have any luck.
i haven't made any bho since around 2010, finally had some extra trim so figured I'd make a small run. the trim was low quality with about 10% very high quality sugar leaf.
anyways... I'm no expert by any means; years ago when I ran bho at home more regularly I'd ussually end up with wax. so as I said not the best.
this time tho the bho after a hot water purge has remained thick liquid like simpson oil and it seems to stay that way... trying to which it up does nothing. I tried a couple more hot water baths (hot water under container) but it seems to have no effect.
trying to dab it the taste isn't very good and kind of harsh but I can't sense a butane taste or smell.
thoughts?

Runny liquid bho
Graywolf

Graywolf

Retained solvent, water, and decarboxylation are culprits for making an extract soupy. High terpene levels will make a shatter pull an snap, and high wax content makes it soft and doughy.

Harshness can be from high C-30 content, which is also where most of the color comes from.

How old was the trim, what was your process?

I would suggest smearing it in a thin film on parchment or PTFE film, and sticking it in a vacuum at 115F and see what it does.

Komoshan

Komoshan

it was open blasted and hot water bath purged for about an hour. the trim was low quality half dry and half wet.
thanks that info will be pulled up for viewing many times by me i'm guessing.

souf69

souf69

Retained solvent, water, and decarboxylation are culprits for making an extract soupy. High terpene levels will make a shatter pull an snap, and high wax content makes it soft and doughy.

Harshness can be from high C-30 content, which is also where most of the color comes from.

How old was the trim, what was your process?