Stuff you may not know about RI MMJ laws

• Thread starter RI Redneck
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
RI Redneck

RI Redneck

Christ, I spend an hour formatting this in HTML, and find out the board won't use it...

I've been reading the actual mmj laws in Rhode Island, and thought I'd compile some interesting things that I hadn't realized. Disclaimer, I am not a lawyer. Consult one if you have questions...

* Plants must be stored in an indoor facility.(1)

* "No school, employer or landlord may refuse to enroll, employ or lease, or otherwise penalize a person solely for his or her status as a cardholder."(2). That's a direct quote. What it leaves unanswered is if you can be discriminated against because of growing/using. It only protects you from a stigma of *having* a card.

* Rhode Island treats other states' registry cards as having the same power as an RI card.(3)

* Marijuana can change hands free of charge among patients and/or caregivers, even if they aren't "connected by registration" (presumably as a registered caregiver) -- *provided no consideration is paid for it.* So you could give away a clone, I presume, but not sell it. It *doesn't* address if a caregiver can get compensation for providing a clone to a patient with whom he is registered... (4)

* Employers are not required to accomodate the medical use of marijuana in the workplace.(5)

* Marijuana is defined to include "the resin extracted from any part of the plant, and every compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the plant, its sedds or resin"(6) I would take this to mean edibles, hash and oil were ok (but IANAL).

* A caregiver/compassion center can deliver a maximum of 2.5 ounces to a single patient in a 15 day period. (7)

(1) TITLE 21, Food And Drugs, CHAPTER 21-28.6, See http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE21/21-28.6/21-28.6-4.HTM, The Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater Medical Marijuana Act, Ā§ 21-28.6-4, section (a).
(2) ibid, section (b).