1st time Grow: 250w Red CFL micro...

• Thread starter usualsuspect
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
U

usualsuspect

I've been smoking for ten years now and I've finally decided it's time to start growing my own! The usual motivations are there: needing to boost my income, fed up of the expense and a total lack of reliable dealers.

We bought a lovely looking chest that measures roughly 3 ft wide, 1.5 ft deep and 2.5 ft tall. After much research, I've decided to go with a 250w Red CFL with reflector for the whole grow in order to keep costs down.

First question, is it cost efficient in terms of money saved on electricity to get a 125w Blue CFL for Vegging? Im thinking that it would cut energy costs by around 25% as well as extending the lifespan of the Red bulb considerably. Is 125w Blue sufficient to veg three plants?

For this grow, I've gone with feminised seeds (mainly because at the moment I've only the Red, which I've read has a worse male-female ratio atributed to it and I don't want to waste time. I've ordered a Northern Lights, an AK48 and a Papaya.

I've also ordered a 120mm PC fan which I shall install at the back, bottom, middle of the box. I'll then add an exhaust grill at the top, above the intake fan. Is such an intake fan sufficient to build up the stalks, or do I need an additional fan during vegging? I'm also going to put a carbon filter over the exhaust grill to keep down the smell. Is one 120mm PC fan enough for a box of this size and three plants?

I'm planning on scrogging the plants, using a screen in a Trapazoid shape so that the two closest corners are clear in order to get under the screen to train and water the plants. I'll use a homemade screen with a wooden framing resting on blocks nailed into the sides of the box with string tied to screwed in eyelets.