2 oz kush bud extraction with 100% acitone or butaine?

• Thread starter iBsmokin it
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
I

iBsmokin it

ok hello everyone, im new to this page and this is my first post. i have 2 oz. of kush buds. i have made butane hash a few times and been successful but i want better purer hash, i am thinking of trying to do it with acetone. any help or tips would be greatly appreciated.

squiggly

squiggly

Acetone is much nastier and harder to get rid of than butane in terms of health concerns. It is also fairly reactive by comparison with butane.

If you want to get a more pure product, you will perform purification procedures AFTER extraction. Method of extraction is independent of purity if using this pathway. Look around this forum for purification techniques as they are all already outlined in older threads.

Some methods to look for:

Filtration
Defatting
Water Washing (liquid-liquid extraction)
Vacuum Purging

If you are inexperienced, it is best to start with the methods which are best covered until you've developed your own working knowledge of the chemistry behind extraction/purification. If you did want to do a liquid extraction instead of gas-liquid butane extraction for better contact on the bud, I would recommend hexanes. However, care must be taken when evaporating/distilling off the solvent once you've extracted the material in either case.

Graywolf

Graywolf

What Sqiggly said. Acetone is a polar solvent and is miscible with water, while butane is non-polar, and its solubility in water is close to zero. Acetone will extract more undesirables than butane will.

Hexane is non polar and has zero water solubility, so it will produce a more pristine extraction and can be used to clean up other extractions. It is harder to purge however, and requires some extra steps.

We use HPLC reagent grade hexane, which we get from a local school scientific supply store.