55 gal. Reservoir question

• Thread starter igeorge
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
I

igeorge

Hi all Im new to community!

I got a reservoir question. I got a 55 gallon black foodgrade plastic barrel. I have gone back and forth after reading different threads. Now I don't know what to do. At first I thought it was a no brainer to have a 55 gal res and I would keep nutes in it and top it off as needed. How easy! I have a 396 gph pump moving the water and a air stone in the barrel. I read you shouldn't add the nutes and I read you should. Which is it for my setup? I use 5 gal bubble buckets with air stones in the water. Works fine. I have the 5 buckets connected to another 5 gal as a sub res. On the 55 gal I use a aquarium multi airline adjuster mounted on the side of the barrel to drip water into the sub reservoirs like an I-V in the hospital. Works great! as much or as little drip as I want!

I want to keep my nutes fresh I think..? and do water changes every 10-14 days. Im now thinking that I want to set up a small 5-6 gallon res to drip my sub res's and keep everything fresh... SO now I have this big reservoir just sitting here. Would it be good to keep and use this as a ph balanced, fresh water holding tank instead? And keep it air tight when Im not needing the water. Pump or air stone needed when doing this?

Any thoughts would be great!
Thanks,
Igeorge

E

eyepinpools

If you are planning to add nutrients to this water, I would wait to Ph it until after doing so. Otherwise, it is great to have a supply of water on hand. I have a 55gal with a float that is hooked to a Stealth RO that just collects water. I do not add anything to the water until I pump it to the veg or flower reservoir, and mix up the nutrients for the week.

X

Xceptional