AACT/ a closer look

• Thread starter rootsnshoots
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
rootsnshoots

rootsnshoots

Just throwing this thread out here.

I have no experience with microbiology or microscopes, but I just got one! I have been scoping some different things. My tropical fish tank water/bio-filter drip/ aquatic plants, mushroom spores/,mycelium, muscle tissue. All kinds of stuff. I want to get some stains and get educated on using a microscope to it's full advantage. Anyone with advice/literature please post.

I brewed a basic tea a few days ago. One handful of EWC in a strainer and two tablespoons of molasses in a 5 gal bucket. I scoped the tea about 15 min after brew and didn't see much life at all, mostly just what looked like pieces of broke down organic material. The next day I scoped it 20 hrs later and it was booming with small organisms. Mostly tons and tons of small rod shaped slow moving things i'd assume are bacteria, and then a ton of stuff I don't even know what. I also noticed a few larger guys with flagellum here and there. (Probably 1/3rd the amount I see from my biofilter) 4 hours later I scoped it again. The bacteria population seemed about the same (lots) and the stuff with flagellum, protozoa? had increased in population. At 400x I could see what i'm thinking are protozoa swimming around all over the place. Then I looked up to see I was overflowing a 55gal drum and finished the day moping ;)

I have taken some videos on my phone but they wont email them to myself? Hopefully ill post some pics/video soon.

Threads open.. Take it away farmers

S

slap14

Would love to see the video. Nice report on how AACT works and the time it takes. I love the tea's

Slap

grower2

grower2

Way cool. Did you by chance get one that can take pictures?

I'll go ahead and guess the larger stuff you see is fungi, as brewing tea is only supposed to make fungi grow in size, not in number from what I have heard.