Act Compost Tea - My Overview

• Thread starter tj Wise
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
tj Wise

tj Wise

Aerated Composted Tea not only provides good microbes, bacteria and fungi, who feed the plants, but those microbes also occupy the space and consume the food that would otherwise encourage bad microbes and larger pests. I have no experience using ACTs, but here is what I've found from googling pretty hard.

There are a few kinds of ACTS:

1) General Feeding: Worm castings and black strap molasses alone. For a 5 gallon bucket that's 2C WC and 1/2C BSM.

2) Veg Nutrient Tea: Many people consider this to be an entirely different thing. Start with earth worm castings, black strap molasses,, and then frequent additional ingredients: fish hydrolysate (high quality), alfalfa meal, Canadian sphagnum peat moss, soft rock phosphate, High N Bat Guano (Mexican), and a little kelp.

3) Fungal Nutrient Tea: Some people like to give an occasional batch which has more fungi, which uses more kelp -- at the expense of the bacteria.

4) Bloom Nutrient Tea: Some people brew a separate nutrient tea for the flowering phase. This might use high P guanos, such as High P Guano (Indonesian or Jamaican) instead of the hign N Bat Guano.

5) Foliar Tea: I think I can use general tea, strained and undiluted. I need to read more. It seems to be more about crowding out bad microbes and not attracting pests than actually feeding the plant.

*Note: You can find 99 different recipes in all shapes and sizes. Not many people categorize the teas like I did above. I listed the most common stuff that I observed.