Anyone know about pipe lagging?

• Thread starter Gandalfalfa
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Gandalfalfa

Gandalfalfa

Does anyone know about pipe lagging? I’m trying to make some customized baffles around some exhaust fans.

Gandalfalfa

Gandalfalfa

I’m working with two materials. One is a foam for sound insulation, about 1” thick, with a flexible polymer foil backing. The other is a heavy dark grey sound insulator loaded with barium and other heavy metals, about a 1/4” thick. Putting rolls of it around ducting immediately entering and exiting the fan is easy, so long as the line of axis is straight, but to turn 45 or 90 degrees is a nightmare, as you can imagine all sorts of geometry comes into play when trying to join to cylinders as 45 or 90 degree and leave no gaps, especially when layering the stuff.

Joshy

Joshy

I’m a sound engineer and I know the stuff you’re on about, both frighteningly expensive. You must be on a winning streak or have a lot of spare cash lying around to be going to THAT extent. The heavy stuff is mlv, is lined with barium sulfate and calcium silicate. Both are much easier to install as sheets, if we ever need the guys to go around pipes (usually grey water) to silence noise they already have a bunch of templates (you can find online). But I’ve never heard of layering acoustic foam and mlv around around pipes..makes sense though, most baffles aren’t long enough and most of the noise will come from the first 3’ of ducting either side. You’re going to run into issues with layering, as the templates will change size and shape as the cylinder increases in diameter., but basically you will end up with cut outs that look lil sine waves. Good luck. Would love to see some shots when you’re finished.

Gandalfalfa

Gandalfalfa