Apollo Driver

• Thread starter Saint Skinny
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Saint Skinny

Saint Skinny

hey all
I have a 138w apollo led. I took it apart to clean it and was reading the stats of the driver and was a bit confused.

Apollo driver

My questions:
1-Is this a constant Current or constant voltage driver? I thought it was constant current since it says 50w but wasn't sure
2- would this driver be able to run a single (50w) cob?
3- what specs (of the cob) are needed? As in voltage/current

I don't want to destroy this ufo to build a cob, just curious if it would be an option in the future

CallmeTex

CallmeTex

I'm still pretty new in the cob game, but it looks like it will drive between 55-100v dc at .55-.6 amps or 600mA.
Not totally sure but seems like you could run 2-3 36v cobs at 550-600 mA

Saint Skinny

Saint Skinny

I'm still pretty new in the cob game, but it looks like it will drive between 55-100v dc at .55-.6 amps or 600mA.
Not totally sure but seems like you could run 2-3 36v cobs at 550-600 mA
Nice, for some reason I had my mind stuck on doing a single cob but the more the merrier

jumpincactus

jumpincactus

Premium Member
Supporter
I'm confused as well. Not really up on the Chinese language. Thats a shame since everything in my house is made there. :(

CallmeTex

CallmeTex

Nice, for some reason I had my mind stuck on doing a single cob but the more the merrier
So 550-600 mA is a very low current. In my mind you would be better off using the UFO to veg and just getting a different setup from Timber if you want to run cobs. Just my 2 cents

Saint Skinny

Saint Skinny

So 550-600 mA is a very low current. In my mind you would be better off using the UFO to veg and just getting a different setup from Timber if you want to run cobs. Just my 2 cents