Are Rapidled And Similar Kits Worth It

• Thread starter Thunder
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
T

Thunder

So, the last few weeks i have gone down the COB rabbit hole. While my knowledge is far from most, I feel I am ready to tackle this. My goal is to start with a 4x4 tent in my garage with a max of 5 plants. Now I am a first time grower so my ultimate goal is simplicity. I am an electrician by trade (commercial) so a lot of the terms and formulas i understand easier than most. Problem is the internet and its knowledge are intimidating. I have watched the youtube videos and read the threads and gain a lot of knowledge. Still i am lost on where to start.

My goals are to buy and buy once. Budget is in the air. Not a millionaire, but I came into this knowing lighting is everything for results. I see the rapidled 10, 12 and i believe 16 light combos for 4x4 tents. Then I see people growing with 6-8 lights with great results. Are that many lights really that necessary for my goals? I have seen where it is suggested to have 50 watts a square foot and what not. Thing is I am not going to be cramming my tents. I have no problem dropping the coin on a 12-16 light setup. I just want to make sure it will be usable from seed to flower. Like most I am shooting for 600w for the 4x4.

I am also not against piecing a system up myself as I am not scared of the task. Just when really comparing the prices (at least from what I have found) the savings isn't substantial. When I see kids like Rapidleds Medical kit for just over 1000 it really makes me think. I dont necessarily have to run all those lights for veg. Just looking for some experience as google has failed me. Everything I have found seems to fall short of what I am looking for.

CallmeTex

CallmeTex