Blumat or other drip system... which is best?

• Thread starter GanjaAL
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
GanjaAL

GanjaAL

Trying to figure out which would be best?

The Blumat system, a continuous drip or a steady flood on timers.

Biggest fear is leaks and busted lines under pressure. Makes for a bad day...LOL. This will be an indoor project.

So now I am almost done with my revamp of my room. I will be using 15 gallon magic pots with chow mix. From a few threads I have seen with people running chow... they have to water 4-5 times a day with 15 gallon pots. This is the only reason I want to run a drip system. Otherwise... I could handle hand watering twice a day.

Thanks for the time everyone.

GanjaAL

GanjaAL

I just may to see what happens. But would like to here from others on their experiences with the product or other drip systems. I am a disabled vet so I will be around to see how she runs so it will not be unattended for very long.

deep buddy

deep buddy

never used blumats. i have used basket dripper stakes, t's on stakes, and lines zip tied to base of stem. all of these work , my preference being the dripper stakes or ZDTS(zipped tied directly to stem) i dont do a steady drip though either. i run 4 to 6 irrigation cycles a day usually 15 to 30 secs for my 3 gal pure coco in aeration containers.

GreenThumbBill

GreenThumbBill

Blumats are cool but limited in that they only provide enough water for a limited space in the root zone. You would need 4 of them PER 15g pot. That means expensive and logistically a bit more complicated to setup than what it seems at first glance. I like blumats but think they are best for somebody who is growing a few small plants. I would go with a more traditional drip system if your grow is on the medium to large side.

GanjaAL

GanjaAL