Cannabis Beer

• Thread starter Thatoneguy
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
T

Thatoneguy

I know there has been several discussions that has to do with this subject. But i have a few questions.

My background is pretty void of pot but im an advanced brewer. Im affiliated with 2 different brewers and i brew at home often.

So ive come across several recipes off this site and a few others. I want some potency and not just the flavor. In every brew book ive read say cannabis and hopps are cousins and both have delicious oil. The methods for adding the THC into the brew ive found are this:

1. Adding an Oz. to the secondary. Supposedly the alcohol content pull the oil from the cannabis into the brew. This is similar to "dry hopping" the beer which gives beer the nice hop aroma. The problem i see with this is from several reports is yes it gives a wonderful hemp aroma but it doesnt pull as much THC out of the cannabis.
  2. Adding an Oz to the boil when your boiling your wort. This is how you bitter beer. Depending on when during the boil will depend on how much bitterness you will have and how much flavor you will impart. If you add it early to the boil you will only get the bitter with less taste and aroma, add it to the end of the boil and you wont get any bitter and a more flavor and aroma. Ive only heard of a very small handfull of people doing it this way but it seems like a better way to get the THC.
  3. The last way ive read about is adding an extract this being Green dragon. This is done when you add the beer to the bottling bucket to prime the bottles and you add it at this time. So from what i read you make what they call "green dragon" which seems like you would extract every possible bit of THC out and add it meaning more bang for my buck.