CLONE HELP!

• Thread starter nattydreadz
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
nattydreadz

nattydreadz

I've inherited a whole widow mama. Decided to take clones, wondering if there is a certain way to cut them off and what needs to be done to maintain and help grow roots. HELP! This is my first time dealing with clones and I want it to be perfect

orbad

orbad

You've got a lot of reading to do bud. Search around. Look on YouTube etc. I cut, relocate to a cutting board. Slice the end at a 45° then immediately dip in clonex then into moist root riot cubes. I've tried other methods this works for me. Keep them in a humidity dome and spray with water morning and night until you see strange white things sticking out. These are roots.

If they droop it was too hot or too dry. You can also cut the ends off the fan leaves to help keep them from transpiring too much. I mainly do it to keep the size of the clone down a bit.

Dunge

Dunge

Post up a picture of your plant and I'll bet farmers will offer observations.

I find a heat pad essential.

Mississip Hip

Mississip Hip

I clone ok..

First...soak the rockwool for 24 hours in water that is ph'd to the low 5's...they say on the package 5.5....but shoot for runoff of 5.5-5.8. My tap water is 20 ppm and 6.3 ph...so I know how to get it to where I need it. You may have to play around to get your runoff correct. Its ok....just keep dropping/raising the ph of your water until you get there.

Make the cutting about 5-6 inches long, cut the stem with a new clean razor at a 45 degree angle. Remove with a pair of scissors all the leaf set except the top 2 or 3. Cut the tips off the fan leaves that are left...about halfway. Drop it into a jar of distilled or filtered water that is ph'd to 5.6ish. I like to leave them there 24 hours.

Ok you got a jar full of cuttings. And some rockwool that is wet.