DIY vacuum purge - instructions unclear

• Thread starter dirtbag916
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
D

dirtbag916

I am hoping that enough people will respond, or at least ones with the proper experience and know-ho to provide the answers that I am seeking. I have seen various plans for building vacuum purging systems and most seem to use relatively the same method (at least the ones that are more professional), however certain aspects have been very unclear especially as I have very little experience constructing pressurized systems.

Currently I have a 9 qt aluminum pressure cooker pot for the vat, a 3cfm two-stage vacuum pump with both R134A and R12/R22 fittings. Most guides say "oh you can find all the lines at home depot, or even a autoparts store". Home depots in my area have VERY poor selection of lines, especially since they will be under pressure and exposed to butane which I know can be corrosive so I don't want flimsy crap lines, not to mention they do not have any kind of fitting matching R134A or R12/R22 connectors. (is that just another term for FLARE fittings?) The only place I was able to even find a line that would suffice was from an auto parts warehouse and I found 2 AC/Refrigeration recharging hoses (sufficient?). The package states that it has a 1/4" female R134A flare on each side, I just wondered why both sides do not look exactly the same (refer to first picture, see that little metal dot inside one and not the other?)

Hose fittings