DWC water looking nasty

• Thread starter BudBlazer
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
B

BudBlazer

Got a DWC setup that I am running and I cleaned everything well and pH'ed the hydroton. But it has been 3 weeks and the water gets pretty nasty with shit growing on the sides of the bucket and net pot. Just picked up some Hygrozyme to see if that would help break down stuff. Any ideas? Try to keep it all organic. This is my first hydro experience and I cant figure it out. Running a 10" net pot as well. Does the hydroton just need to be cleaned a lot more? THanks

sky high

sky high

More info, bro. All organic? What nutes/etc?

I'm far from an expert...(I'm a hack)....but my experience has shown that "organics" fuck DWC all up....high chances of root rot...the slime you speak of...or both.

I'm playing with running chems all the way til week 4 of bloom...then slowly adding in the organics in small quantities until finish. Last run I used Roots organic HPK+ in this fashion and there was a noticable difference in trichs/smell/taste over a 100% chem run.

anyway...more info on what you've put in yer res will get ya a more specific response (IMO).

good luck!

s h

K

Kpezzy

normal bro, the buckets get nasty as f#ck, I flush my res every week and it still looks nasty, just dont scrub your buckets until the end of your grow leave that growth alone

B

BudBlazer

Botanicare Pro Grow, Aquashield, Hygrozyme, Liquid Karma and Molasses for Calcium and Magnesium. Thats what I am using for veg right now. i would like to stay chem free, but have thought of adding hydrogen peroxide?
Everything else I have read is to keep the buckets clean? Why would I want to leave that growth in there? I am not running a separate reservoir.

K

Kpezzy