Electrical usage question

• Thread starter iscrog4food
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
iscrog4food

iscrog4food

I currently have 6000 watts running on a 30 amp fuse at 240v. My room started as 4k watts and since I have added the 2 extra 1000's i began to smell fish then today after harvesting i went to turn the room on and the lights flickered and went out. I checked the dryer plug and it was fried. my questions are as follows:

1: How many lights can i safely run on a 30 amp breaker at 240v if it is only the lights? (I have all digital ballasts 4 lumateks and 2 phantoms)

2: when replacing the recepticle which wire is supposed to go to the connection labled white? (I am assuming it is the one without insulation but im really not that experienced with electrical and even less with 240v)

Thanks in advance for the help as I am a noob when it comes to this stuff.

mittenmedgrow

mittenmedgrow

You can run 4 1000wt on 30 amps ov 240v. U need 10/2 wiring.

mittenmedgrow

mittenmedgrow

u can get an 8 light controller 8/2 wiring and a 50 amp dual pole breaker.

hiboy

hiboy

You can put 6-1000 watters on a 30 amp 240v breaker. Thats 25 amps.
On changing the device, the silver screw is the neutral. Hot colors are normally gold in color. Green is obvioulsy ground. And turn your breaker off,, ya never know.

mittenmedgrow

mittenmedgrow

Im pretty sure theres a rule about not running a circuit at more than 70 % for 3 hrs.

hiboy

hiboy

well,
its actually 80%.
and whats 80% of 30.
24 if im not too hi....
and if your at 25 amps.
i think you'lll make it.Put five if that makes ya feel better.
good luck

mittenmedgrow

mittenmedgrow

Ya I was just goin with how my electrician set me up and thats what the lighting controller man. reccomend.

OGONLY

OGONLY

Taking electrical advice from a guy that calls himself Hi boy...could be a recipe for danger. JK highboy. Good to have qualified people to give this type of advice.

hiboy

hiboy