Electrician, new to forum

• Thread starter 5280Grower
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

5280Grower

Hi,
Just joined the thc farmer and parked my diary here, love forums, Im a long time forum user but new here.

Thought I would give back to everyone's helpfull growing threads by lending my expertise.

Im a Colorado journeyman electrician, 80% commercial work, did a couple years in the mountains doing resi work but commercial is what I love the most. Contracted a job building out a dispensary, became friends with the owner, started doing odd jobs during slow times and learning grow room design along the way. A couple months ago decided to take the plunge, took a huge pay cut to run a disp full time but I come home smiling and excited to work the next day.

Electrical questions? Fire away!

M

mal

Premium Member
Supporter
Welcome to the Farm

Glad to have you, hope all is well with you and yours

mal

5280Grower

Got a few pm's, sorry cant answer you yet because of my post count. Will reply as soon as I can!

Dr.Pepper

Dr.Pepper

hey 5280Grower

as a hydro system grower mainly i am looking to expand on my electrical engineering...

cya around

evu80

evu80

hey bro

i got a unit with 60 amp service I want to start soon.

whats the max number of 1k lights I can have going without tripping the breakers.

Based on what I know about electricity ( which isnt alot ) I'm guessing 8 1k lights, 6 for bloom and 2 for veg which should leave me with just enough amps left to run misc stuff like my fans and pumps and timers.

4.5 amps per ballast/light x 8 = 36 amps and that will leave me with 12 amps left for everything else

This is based off the 80% percent rule but someone told me I can go as high as 95% before I have to worry about failures and fires.

I'm running a flip system to overcome this issue with limited power source but ideally would prefer to squeeze in an extra 11 amps for AC if possible since one of the room will be on during the day.