Extended Dark Period During Flowering?

• Thread starter crimsonecho
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
crimsonecho

crimsonecho

Self-Proclaimed Don Quixote
Supporter
What do you guys think about giving an extended dark period in the middle of flowering? Like you would just before harvest to increase trichome production (if this even works) and giving the plant adequate time to ripen after the increased production of trichomes (giving enough time for those newly formed trichomes to turn milky) (in most videos i found people say extended dark period before harvest increases trichomes but they are clear, so not much potency, as for me i haven’t done the dark period because i think giving the plant all it can absorb ‘till the end is the way for me just because my OCD). I am new to this so i don’t know if this question has been answered in the past or if it makes any sense [if it’s a dumb question to anyone sorry (although, i don’t believe there is such a thing)] but if you have any useful input on the subject please do share.

xavier7995

xavier7995

I don't think it would be a very good idea. Plants need light to stay alive. It is fine to put them in the dark at the end of flower as they are at the end of their lifecycle so can just die and then be cut down. If you were to do this mid flower your plant would potentially die, at a minimum it would be really stressed and possibly herm out. It would likely hurt yield/quality due to that stress.

The dark period is what triggers flowering. If you give it a long dark period mid flower the plant is going to freak out and think it is the apocalypse and try to do whatever it can to make seed, ie complete it's biological imperative to continue the species.

crimsonecho

crimsonecho

Supporter