First time growing could use (lots of) advice

• Thread starter Jedsdead
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
J

Jedsdead

OK peeps it’s getting close to germination time (end of this month) and the fear for this first timer is real.
I’ve accumulated a list of stuff so here’s what I have have so far.
Seeds (very important)
Fabric pots X 3
Bio mix light X 3
Fans X 3

Plants are going into a polytunnel so natural light is what’s being provided.
When do I need to begin feeding seedlings? And with what?
I presume I will grow them up in small pots of the same soil they will be going into in the big pots.
Now just letting you know I’m a big gardener, outdoors, I’m hugely in growing native trees so I’m not a complete beginner but I never had the opportunity to grow my own weed inside until now (and outdoors in this country not really an option)
I have to say this forum has so much info that it can swamp you so, if I may, can you keep it simple stupid please for my sake.
Looking forward to all the gems 💎 of knowledge from you guys and many thanks in advance for your help it is very much appreciated.

Imzzaudae

Imzzaudae

Use paper towel method for busting your beans. Cut a slit in rock cube Plant seed 1/4 down "on it's side" tail going sideways not down in the rock cube. The tail will grow down and turn the seed the right way around to remove the shell as it breaks ground. Don't drop the seed tail down in a hole. This is very important.

I find that the best medium for indoors is 1 measure peat Moss 1 Measure Vermiculite. 50/50.
This makes a very light and fluffy medium and my plants love it. Vermiculite also contains silica for the plant.

Plant the cube in as large a pot as you can as soon as you note roots visible. Just cover the cube.

Every Gallon of medium mix in 1 tablespoon powdered Gypsum. This is Calcium and Magnesium. Top dress the same amounts when you flip.
2 tablespoons Dolomite lime. This is Iron and a few other good things your plant requires.