First time growing, so confused!

• Thread starter Siobahn
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
S

Siobahn

As the title suggests, it's my first time growing.
Everything started off very well but took a turn for the worse 3 weeks ago as I headed off on vacation.

I was going to be away from home for 12 days so I watered 2 days before leaving then again the day I left.
When I returned, the bottom set of leaves was doing what you see in the picture. I trimmed these off.
Same with the second set and now the third set and only remaining large leaves are doing the same.

At first I thought overwintering, possibly nutrient burn since I think the water jug I used was also my tomato nutrient jug of water.

I let it dry out for about a week. Started suspecting root rot since it's no longer growing really. Thought also occured that it might be root bound since it was only in a 10x10" pot.
I potted up to a 5 gallon bucket, soil was very moist but nothing smelled funny.
It's been one week now, not much growth, it no longer stinks up the basement bedroom, and the third set of true leaves is dying off and all that remains are tiny leaves.
Yes I know I need to clean up a little but I'm leaving all the other leaves in place for now since the main ones seem to be just dying.

Thanks Seamaiden for the diagnostic guide/chart. I'm however still right lost and confused.
I'm torn between deficiency and burn. As well as over watering, and maybe even got root bound but I doubt that.

Can it be saved? And how?

For reference, it's under 500w light, in a closet (door opens during the day, closed at night), 18 hours light, 6 hour rest, small fan on it while the light is on.

Thanks

First time growing so confused
S

Siobahn

Certainly does. Also falls in line with Seamaidens guide.
An option I hadn't even considered since I was so focused on what I thought it was.

None of the images I'd seen prior really seemed the same but this one certainly does.
Will give it a shot and a huge thanks.