First Timer

• Thread starter Derylh
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Derylh

Derylh

I was given some pot seeds (I have no idea what kind) and I planted them and got them growing in soil. I have 7 plants up about 2 to 3 feet tall, 4 of which I think are female, and I want to switch them to hydro. A couple of years ago I successfully grew vegetables in a DWC hydro setup, so I have a little knowledge about hydro growing, but this is my first time to grow pot. Can someone smarter than me give me some tips on transplanting these from soil to hydro? What kind of EC and pH should I have for the initial switch? Should the nutrients be tailored to vegetative growth or flowering (the 4 suspected female plants have small buds)? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

NotaRasta

NotaRasta

Youve gone this far in soil its probably best to finish them in soil. Start a new grow in hydro if you want. Sounds like theyre ready to be in flower anyway. So it wont be long now

DoctorFIRE

DoctorFIRE

I've actually heard a lot of people talk about how they switched up from dirt to hydro and vice versa. I'm kinda wondering the same thing since I have a frikkin 7 foot bush in a dwc that's got 6 airstones and a 45 gallon bucket ..

FennarioMike

FennarioMike

I've actually heard a lot of people talk about how they switched up from dirt to hydro and vice versa. I'm kinda wondering the same thing since I have a frikkin 7 foot bush in a dwc that's got 6 airstones and a 45 gallon bucket ..

It can certainly be done but even the most gentle method isn't easy on the plant and it'll take a couple of weeks until roots are growing again and happy in the new medium.

The other thing - often, normal microbes that are in the soil, can cause issues is DWC.