Flowering in coco - any difference from soil?

• Thread starter phxazcraig
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
phxazcraig

phxazcraig

I'm about 6 weeks into my first coco grow, and the results have been amazing in the veg state. The plants are huge and have grown faster than I thought possible. I flipped the lights from 18/6 to 12/12 at the beginning of the week. I've pretty much finished trimming the plants (lollipop style) and am planning to let them grow undisturbed for the flowering cycle, if they don't get too tall.

So - what to expect in the flowering stage that is specific to coco coir? I'm pretty new to growing in general, but I did have a nice tent full of buds last October when I grew in soil.

The veg state was fast, but flowering takes as long in coco as soil to finish, correct? What should happen to the growth rate during flowering? Do I expect the plants to get taller than they would in solil? Do the plants get fatter than if grown in soil?

I've been searching the internet for this information, and surprisingly I don't find anything. All the articles and comments on growing in coco tend to focus on the vegetative state, which is certainly very different from soil.

MY expectation is that plants will be about the same height but with fatter buds. Maybe wishful thinking as I really don't want them to grow taller than usual.

phxazcraig

phxazcraig

Here's a reply to my own question. So far, there isn't any difference in coco versus soil - except I'm pretty sure buds are getting fatter in the same amount of time.

Certainly bud growth is nothing like the explosion I saw in veg. A huge, fast stretch in the first 3 weeks, but that's typical. And then.... it's like I've been riding a train at 100mph through mountain curves, and suddenly it comes out into a long straight stretch and slows down to 25mph. Now I just peek in daily and wonder if things are bigger than last time I looked.

ThatRapperWeed

ThatRapperWeed