Generator info

• Thread starter markscastle
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
markscastle

markscastle

Well-Known Farmer
I`m looking at power generators for my 50 x 80 foot shop and have to admit I don`t know enough about them. I`ve found a 20kw propane powered one for $3,000 and a deisel 30kw one for $2,000.00. both have low hours between 400 and 600. I want to be able to run a full set up with up to 20+ lights off the grid. Which generator would cost less to run and operate? Will I be able to run lumatec electronic ballasts with a generator? They were both used as hospital backup generators.I`m going to have an electrition do the wiring up of these beasts they are both very large units. I think the deisel one is made by Cat. I also would like enough power to also run a 30 amp line to my travel trailor as well so I can be all off the grid.

S

smokestack23

I'm not an electrician but...I'd go with the diesel obviously and probably so would everyone else I'm sure. 30KW (at how many amps?) isn't a whole lot though for that size of room.

I don't imagine either way will be cheap and hauling and storing fuel won't be a whole lot of fun either.

Again though...I say the diesel. Too bad propane isn't as cheap as it used to be. I run a vehicle on propane and while it IS cheaper than gas right now, my buddy tells me that he remembers it being like 3 cents a litre like 20 years ago. now THAT would be SWEET!!!

The diesel will be more heavy duty probably and probably last longer. It also has more power and that sounds like a steal! Frick...they both are...get em both if you can.

ncga

ncga

The propane will run cleaner but cost a lot more to run. Make sure you have an approved way to get rid of the oil from your oil changes. If in Cali you want to have a proper pad for it to sit on. No diesel or oil spills onto bare ground.

BE careful of your hours of operation. Even way out in the woods the sound of a genny running 24/7 will travel and annoy for miles.

nc