Hello, from So. Cal. My name is Maka. Maka Farms Collective, Courier service

• Thread starter makasinner
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
M

makasinner

I know there are alot of serious growers in here, and I am all ears... I was raised on a twenty acre farm in California, and we grew all our vegetables, some fruits, raised chickens (5,000 approx.) for Zachy Farms; 30 head of goats; approx. 5-20 pigs; and a cow - here and there, for slaughter... All were harvested, and none wasted. My Grandpa was a butcher by trade, and my Grandma was a true "Jack of all Trades..." She was also my best friend, and I miss her...
I have always had a garden that dwarfed - even my Grandmas. Planted in the open lot next to hers, and just copied/learned by her example. I was five when I started my first veg. garden, and thats when I developed my "niche." Also, thats when my love for gardening, and fascination grew...
Originally, my family is from Hawaii, and we would return for atleast four weeks to three months - for summer vacation. Fillipino descent (1/2 flip 1/2 howly), my family worked the soil with there hands.
There in Hawaii - there was a plant that was beautiful, intriguing, but very different.... My first encounter was at the age of about six or seven. Aroma filled the air with a sweet smell - that was dwarfed by the huge mango trees on both sides of the house. Always, year after year - there they were... I was told not to go near them and to never "taste" that one, but to concentrate on escuela.... The irony is: It is my money maker, and has always - been profitable, and I just enjoy growing her....