Help clearing up Curing broscience

• Thread starter Cannagar
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Cannagar

Cannagar

Hey everyone 👋

I just harvested my plant 3 days ago and its been hanging and drying since; Meaning that in just a few days im going to be moving onto the curing stage. When I first joined the farm here one of my first posts was regarding curing and apparently the info I have on it is bad. I know quite a bit about growing. But apparently im still a novice at the end game.

The best of my knowledge on curing comes from a ”Roll it Up” post which I cant share here because I was made aware that links to that site are not allowed here on the farm. But here is the gist of it:

When drying you don't want to wait until the stem breaks. You want to wait until the outer part of the bud feels dry and the stem bends but doesn't break. Then you can start curing.

All that curing is, is slowing down the drying process and also letting any remaining chlorophyll break down.

Once the outer edges of the buds are dry and the stems bend but don’t break you put your buds into your jars. Then you wait 12 hours until you open the lids of the jars. During this 12 hours the moisture from inside the middle of the buds slowly makes its way out of the buds; after the first 12 hours of having the lids on take the lids off. The buds should feel a little damp again (but not too wet.. if they feel like a fresh harvested bud.. then you need to air dry them for a few more days.) then leave the lid(s) off of your jar(s) for a good 2 to 4 hours before putting the lids back on and repeat the cycle. After a few days you only have to burp the jars once a day. After a few more once a week. Then every other week. And then your buds are fully cured.

Each time you put the lid on.. the humidity inside the jar(s) will slowly evaporate the moisture from inside the middle of the bud as well as the stem thats inside the middle of the bud thus raising the humidity level inside the jar.