Help!! Electricity/outlet questions

• Thread starter dankbank
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
D

dankbank

ok so i noticed that most ballasts and lights dont have the same outlet/plug in ends as the normal plug it outlets. I am new to this and want to grow indoor but all i have in the room is a normal outlet with the two slits and one hole. Can i still hook up my lights to this outlet?

reloader

reloader

That is your ground plug, and you need it for saftey. Ballast run more elec then your normal electrical device, and need the 3rd prong. 2 slits and ground hole should be fine to run your ballast.

D

dankbank

That is your ground plug, and you need it for saftey. Ballast run more elec then your normal electrical device, and need the 3rd prong. 2 slits and ground hole should be fine to run your ballast.

i was going to run a surge protector to plug in two sets of lights from the one outlet, will i be able to this? i mean there is no risk of short ciruiting and burning down the house lol

Papa

Papa

Supporter
i was going to run a surge protector to plug in two sets of lights from the one outlet, will i be able to this? i mean there is no risk of short ciruiting and burning down the house? lol

the first question is: what's the wattage of the lights you wanna run?

second question is: what amperage is the breaker on the circuit that your receptacle is on?

and, the third question is: what other loads are on this circuit?

D

dankbank

the first question is: what's the wattage of the lights you wanna run?

second question is: what amperage is the breaker on the circuit that your receptacle is on?

and, the third question is: what other loads are on this circuit?

i wanna run two 600wt lights and maybe a filter if needed or fan if needed.

im not sure on the next two and have no clue how to figure them out

Papa

Papa

Supporter