Help. I'm thinking of DIY'ing a Flood&Drain/Ebb&Flow system.

• Thread starter magick81
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
M

magick81

Hi fellow growers :wave:
I just finished my 1st grow, using coco in pots, but I would like to go fully automated. I sometimes forget to water, lols, so I would rather maintain a hydro system.

Anyways, I've been looking at Ebb & Flow systems. I am not prepared to pay hundreds of dollars for a system, or even just over a hundred for a flood and drain tray (I cant believe the cost of these things.Rediculous!)
There are lots of handy guides out there to making them. I'm not handy enough to make something fancy, and see myself making something like this:
[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tAzxwpgnVhc[/YOUTUBE]

The simpler the better since I'm still a noob :shrug:

Anyways, alot of these guides don't tell you the flood and drain cycles for growing marijuana. If anyone can help me out with these details it would be appreciated :)

Also, if you have any feedback, suggestions or links to more info, they'd be very helpful in helping a noob grower out.

Cheers
DrMagickZ

dankworth

dankworth

Topdrip DTW imo is better. Any time you can dtw it is better. Perfect feed every time. Not returning crap to the res. Less disease risk. Optimized performance. Better than recirc. Just get your runoff and use drip clean.
I say this having built both systems from scratch.
Oh and lots of big kids on this site are doing amazing things with chow mix(coco/hydroton). Better results than pure coco or coco/perlite mixes apparently.
Hope this information is useful.

DTW-drain to waste. With coco, the rules are usually to get 20-30% runoff with each irrigation, although some can get away with less by using very frequent irrigations and drip clean(h&g product)
Leadsled has a most excellent tutorial on how to build a cheap irrigation manifold for topdrip dtw that offers many advantages to ebb & flow imo.

TexBud

TexBud