help please!

• Thread starter calibrian
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
C

calibrian

I'm a novice grower. I gotta nice big bag of coco shavings to start with, I'm going to need 3 more bags to fill all my pots. what else besides coco mix should I use. perlite? dolomite? do I use them in equal increments? I know some things are meant to adjust the ph of the soil but I'm more concerned about it's over texture, ability to hold moisture and aeration. what else should I use if anything?
Brand names would be good too but I really just need to know what to use is best.:rollj:

I

ibTheMan

you should go with sunshine #4 it really nice, add about 20 -30% coarse perlite. PH to 6.0

C

calibrian

you should go with sunshine #4 it really nice, add about 20 -30% coarse perlite. PH to 6.0

I find myself unable to find it locally and I'm not gonna pay $150 to have it shipped in. any other suggestions?

X

xerhoss

Nothing wrong with running straight coco either, bro. Whatever way you choose to go, best of luck with the grow.

S

SSHZ

It's available locally...... you are not looking hard enough. Try some of the local garden stores- they use it for their own potted plants in the greenhouses. You need to ask for it because it's usually stored out back because of size/weight/size,etc.......

East coast ask for Premier Pro-Mix BX, out west it's Sunshine Mix.

C

calibrian

It's available locally...... you are not looking hard enough. Try some of the local garden stores- they use it for their own potted plants in the greenhouses. You need to ask for it because it's usually stored out back because of size/weight/size,etc.......

East coast ask for Premier Pro-Mix BX, out west it's Sunshine Mix.

if you know a place in san diego, please, I'd love to know where. I just looked for online for about an hour. I cant find it anywhere. I was thinking about cutting the coco like 1/3 coco, 1/3 vermiculite, 1/3 perlite. would that be somewhat close to ideal for staying safe?

C

cheech