Help with Coco, nutes and EC meter

• Thread starter magick81
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
M

magick81

Hi there,

Today I just transplanted one of my seedlings from soil, into nutrifield coco coir.
Also got nutrifields 2 part coco nutes which came highly recommended by the guy at my local hydroshop. Bought an EC pen also.

First of all, I have never used a 2 part nute before. Bottle says not to mix concentrate to prevent nute lockout.
Do I mix them separately and water separately? Or can I mix them once they are both diluted?

How do I prepare a 2 part nute solution for my plants? they are just in pots, not hydro system yet.
The bottle says 0.6 to 1.2 ec for seedlings and transplants.
It says the same thing on both bottles. Does each solution need to be between 0.6-1.2? Or is it 0.6-1.2 combined? Meaning I need to half the solutions.

lols, so confused, maybe i shoulda stuck to soil, but some of my plants were stunted.

Also, my EC meter is supposed to read in increments of 0.1 but when i tested it there were no decimal points. Am I reading it right? Or do i need to multiply or divide the number to get the ec. A number 100 flashes on the screen for a second when i turn it on. If that means anything i dunno

Lols, sorry for the noob questions. I'm starting to think i shoulda stuck with soil, but my friends have had great results. too bad theyre not avail to help me at the moment.

Cheers
MagickZ

S

Shamanfarmer

add equal amounts of both to your water until the desired ec is reached.
Read the instruction sheet for your ec meter.

iscrog4food

iscrog4food