Is A Greenhouse The Best Route For Pnw Outdoors?

• Thread starter Kaskadian
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Kaskadian

Kaskadian

Hey everyone,

I wanted some advice from you outdoor growers. I'm have very little experience with outdoor growing, and I was wondering if a greenhouse is the best route for growing outdoors in the PNW. I don't really want to fight powdery mildew, bud rot, etc and from what I've heard these are issues that plague PNW outdoor growers. Again, I'm not an outdoor grower and I have very little experience in this area, so I'm calling on you outdoor experts to teach me a thing or two.

Since my wife & I will both have our OMMP cards, I figure we might as well do 2-4 plants outdoors each season. I'm already looking at mold resistant strains, but if the easiest answer is "just build a small greenhouse", then that's the route we'll take.

Cheers,
Kas

OrganicGanja

OrganicGanja

Honestly IMO a greenhouse will still allow for insects pm spores and the usual problems that can arise outside. Dig some nice big 3x3 or 4x4 holes in a full sun spot and away ya go. Don't get me wrong greenhouses are good but they are not 100% controlled environment either. Greenhouses are good for security purposes in semi residential areas but some nasty backwoods hiking can sometimes be a better deterrent.

Freshies

Freshies

Greenhouses seem key in areas with bad weather like hail, heavy rain, string wind and early winters. Also like said above, better for security and animals. I'm no expert, just a personal grower, but here in the mountains of CO its pretty much required to do outdoor.

Kaskadian

Kaskadian