Just a few concerns

• Thread starter MonsterRobot
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
MonsterRobot

MonsterRobot

I have a lot of experience with commercial production using ebb and gro buckets and have always had great results. I recently left my job and am getting back to running fewer plants in order to stay legal so I was thinking about getting an UC system.

After doing some research the UC system seems like a whole new beast...

Basically, I am wondering if the UC is that much different than other hydro cultivation, or will I have to relearn a bunch of things?

The whole not knowing how much water is in the system at any given point in time seems odd to me and from what I have read you just have to "guess" as to how much nutrients to top off with instead of knowing that ___ gallons x ___ml = ___ml of nutes to add...

Either way I am going to get an UC and go for it but I was just looking for a bit of feedback.

Thanks,
MonsterRobot

UCMENOW

UCMENOW

System volumes are listed on the website but do not take into account a specific water level, which will fluctuate with each grower and planting style.

Total system volume is less relevant as long as you are mixing to a desired nutrient strength.

An easy way to dial in the UC if you want to use a standard feeding schedule is to have week one (for example) nutrients in the system and week two in the top off reservoir, repeat for each consecutive week.

If you must calculate volume, an 8 gallon module filled to the inner lip is approx. 6 gallons and a 13 to the lip is approx. 10 gallons. Depending on the size of the system the PVC manifold will hold anywhere from 2-20 gallons.

When in doubt purchase a small water meter.

R

reggiebaseball

I think the UC is a whole new system, a whole new learning curve.
Chillers to keep water temps down and much mroe concern about root rot.

What would NOT be new to you is using 10, 14, 18 or even larger rubbermaid tubs or trashbins as super-huge Ebb and grow pots.