Low On Nitrogen?

• Thread starter Mrniceguy420
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Mrniceguy420

Mrniceguy420

High! New to this site. Straight to the point. I'm using the last of my 2 part sensi grow and bloom,(I'm going self made "super soil" here on out). Noticed my ladies who are now 3 weeks into bloom, started 12/12 on Feb. 1st, are yellowing a very little bit, caught it early, and I was wondering should I give it a teensie bit more of the part A (3-0-0 N.P.K) Bloom. [Side Note: I noticed that the sensi A Bloom, and the sensi A Grow, have the same exact N.P.K ratio.] I'm still a little new to growing, but I'm starting to understand the basics. I'm also starting to learn enviroment control is a constant struggle.

Ps. It's hard to get a good picture because my bloom lights are on. It's a very light yellowing discoloration, and I see it on the new growth

Thanks for any help.

Dirtbag

Dirtbag

Supporter
Welcome to the Farm!

The long answer..Plants in flower often have a higher demand for some nutrients. They start to really take up potassium in particular. Potassium will compete for uptake with other nutrients like N and Ca. A common mistake new growers sometimes make is switching over to bloom nutrients too soon when they switch to 12/12. The reduced nitrogen combined with increased K uptake often leaves plants N deficient, as well as Ca, iron etc.. The yellowing on the younger leaves is an indicator that it's an immobile nutrient deficiency, In this case likely Calcium. Which honestly could have even precipitated from your nutrients since you said it's the end of the bottle.

I like to run my Veg nutrients until the end of week 2. Week 3 I do 50/50 veg/bloom nutrients. By week 4 I'm using just bloom nutrients. But that's for 8-9 we strains. Long flowering sativa I'd run the high N fert longer into flower.