MH vs HPS should I be switching back and forth??

• Thread starter Islander
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
I

Islander

Is it still considered to be the best policy to veg with MH and then switch to HPS for flowering? Has anybody tried variations on this?

N

NugNation

That's what a lot of people do. You can run the full cycle with either bulb though. The ideal setup is one with a dual spectrum, i.e. both mh and hps in the flower room.

T

TheGrowNinja

i agree. i think im going to run 2 600w hps and maybe a smaller mh, maybe 400w, mh in a 5x5. but im a newb, listen to the others not me.

S

Skunkenstein

The reasoning behind the Mh for Veg and Hps for flowering is proper color spectrum for the Particular stage of Growth.Mh/Blue Promotes root and Foliage growth..Hps is more of the red/orange spectrum simulating Fall light outdoors.The Blue MH will keep your plants more compact and bushy,wheras a Hps during veg will cause your plants to stretch and slow root growth due to the change in plant Hormones..I would highly recommend the super Blue Hortilux for veg.{Best veg bulb ever}And the Hortilux Enhanced Spectrum Hps for Flowering.If I could use only one Bulb for everything it would be the Super Blue Hortilux.Indica strains tend to respond best to the Mh/Hps combo.If you were running a more sativa strain, Metal halide for the whole run is your best option.

T

theslums

so do u really think the hps for vegging slows thr root growth? is this from experience or reading?

S

stickygreenman

has anyone tried the switchable ballasts? i've seen some hps/mh combos with two bulbs that can be swapped out.

N

NugNation

Most if not all (quantum, lumatek, and nextgen) digital/electronic ballasts are able to run MH and HPS. I personally use quantums and so far they've been working great. I used a MH to veg and then simply swapped the bulbs when it was time to flower, no rewiring necessary or anything like that. just plug and play.

J

jvotta420