Microwave Cannabutter?

• Thread starter Hellno187
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Hellno187

Hellno187

I've got lots of trim and so I'm trying my hand at making cannabutter for the first time. I made a small test batch (because it's my first time) in a sauce pan on a stove. However it didn't come out right smell and taste wise, I think I may have got the pan too hot and burnt it slightly. With my next small test batch I was thinking why not try the microwave since a have a low 700 watt one. So before I do it I thought I would throw this out and see if anyone (probably most everyone) had done it before, and if so what were the results and how did you do it?

Seamaiden

Seamaiden

Living dead girl
If your microwave has variable power, I'd use a lower setting. Honestly though, I think something like a crockpot would work better because it's designed to maintain a certain temperature for a certain period of time, whereas the microwave doesn't have temperature control, only power control.

I've never done it, I don't do medibles. You can also use a rice cooker I'd be willing to bet, it's what I use to make oil.

Seamaiden

Seamaiden

Living dead girl
P.s. microwaves will Potentially destroy all the cannabanoids in the product.

How? I often read and hear people saying don't use them because they'll destroy, but I have yet to find anything conclusive or that discusses the issue with specificity. I'm always up to learn more!

straincreation

straincreation

Well you figure that at anything over boiling point 212f* will begin combustion. So esentially vaping your weed. Or product. Like you stated above there no control. And we have no idea what the actual microwave does on a molecular level to the thc. It may do nothing, it may morph, we dont know. All i kmow it you cannot keep a micro wave at less than 200 degrees for 8 hours. So in the end you are either over cooking or not cooking anough to properly extract. Every cannabanoid that is avalible. Via under cooking.