my 1st hydro

• Thread starter redeye_samurai
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
R

redeye_samurai

So I am using a c.a.p. ebb and grow system and have 5 jilly bean, 3 Apollo 13, 2 power plant and 2 vortex. Front what I know (or think I know I guess) is these produce well if topped young. My ? Is how tall should they be before I top them? any info is appreciated, and this is a great forum I'm new to all of this but my first soil run was good and decided to try out the hydro world. Thanks guys

audius

audius

most growers usally start topping when the plant gets 3 to 4 nodes on the main stem. but i got to ask, are you growing from seed or clone? now if your growing clones i would wait till i got good root growth before i start topping.

R

redeye_samurai

Clones, the roots were thick and hanging out of the rockwool when I got them but they've been in the hydroton and pots for 5-6 days

R

reggiebaseball

You should try (in flower especially) to put spacers under your cap buckets, to help the roots from sitting in water. This eliminates any chance of root rot and allows for more root space.

Option 1 is to buy styrofoam 4x8 insulation panels and cut them to squares to fit under the outer bucket.
Option 2 is to buy 3" pvc couplers for .69 at HD and insert them between then inner and outer buckets.

I do both, if you want bigger yields you should do both too.

OK now when to top your plants, it also depends on how large you want the final plants to be-- I would top first after 4 nodes,
If I was going to flower out all those plants in a small space I might not top at all.

R

redeye_samurai

Thanks for the info esp. The spacers idea and I have a 10x12' room dedicated to them so I think its enough room

R

reggiebaseball

10x12 is really nice, you would ideally want maybe 2X1000 or 3X600 watts to flower using that much space with 12 plants, but you could easily use less with proper planning and get great yields too.