Need Help…Am I Overwatering???

• Thread starter MikeyStreezak
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
MikeyStreezak

MikeyStreezak

So, I am completely new to organics and especially soil. Been in coco for the last two years. Right now I am in Great Lakes Water Only Super soil, top dressed with worm castings and recharge once a week. Feeding about 60ml of water and pots feel like they need water daily. Is it time for me to transplant?? Am I over watering? Am I underwatering?

Need helpam i overwatering
Need helpam i overwatering 2
MikeyStreezak

MikeyStreezak

I honestly have no idea😂😂 I guess I should stop?? I’m used to growing in coco where watering every day is a thing. But really it’s because I feel like the soil is just sitting dry.

mysticepipedon

mysticepipedon

If the only plants you've grown are houseplants, you need to relearn watering habits. Houseplants are used as houseplants because they have the ability to live in both wet and dry soils, because people tend to either over water them (as you are doing to your Cannabis plants) or neglect them for weeks.

Cannabis and other agricultural crops don't have the ability to thrive under those conditions. Cannabis roots need oxygen just as much as they need water. Water and air share the same space in your media -- the spaces between soil/media particles. If those pore spaces are filled with water, they have very little oxygen. If they are filled with air, they have very little water.

The plants can handle the soil pores being filled with water for a day or two, but not longer than that. After that, your roots will die and rot. If you water daily, you are killing plant roots, and you will either kill the plant or it will grow like shit and produce very little.

When the soil is dry, water it until all the soil in the pot is wet. Then don't water again until it is nearly dry. Use the weight of the pot to determine how dry or wet.

Non-soil media requires different treatment