Need Help - First time grower

• Thread starter Strydaris
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Strydaris

Strydaris

Hey everyone,

Looking to get some experienced grower advice here.
This is my first time growing and I seem to be running into issues with the leaves turning colour and dying on me.
I am doing an outdoor grow in my vegetable garden which is in a raised garden bed. The area gets direct sunlight from morning to about 5 pm right now, after which its in the shade due to trees.
I have been watering it maybe every other day or if the top 2 inches of soil is drying out.
The plant itself seems to be a sativia strain, not sure what kind as a work buddy gave it to me. For the first month of growth it seemed to be doing fine with the occasional pruning but not too much as I didn't want to stress it out. For the past 2 weeks things have been going a bit down hill. The plant is about 5'-6" tall right now and it has been losing fan leaves almost daily from the bottom to mid section. Right now the bottom is nearly bare of all leaves.
I just started feeding it General Hydroponics Floragro in the recommended doses for drain to waste. This doesn't seem to be helping. I checked the Ph level of my soil and it seems to be sitting at around 7.5-8 which I know I should try to drop it to around 6.5 which I am trying to do. I read that a PH level too high or low can cause nutrient lockout.

I am going to try to use aluminum sulphate to drop it. Has anyone had any success using that or does anyone have any recommendations?

The plant has also switched from producing 5 fingers on its leaves to now only 3 fingers. I am not sure what is happening but would appreciate the help.
See pics below.

Need help   first time grower
Need help   first time grower 2
Need help   first time grower 3

Strydaris

Strydaris